Skip to content

News: Shingo Mukaitoge interview

by on January 8, 2008

I did an alright interview with Elebits/Dewy’s Adventure producer Shingo Mukaitoge at E for All, and now it’s up to read. Here are some interesting bits – his first game for Konami was a Puzzle Dama entry, he started making games partially because he was bad at architecture, and he wants to make an RPG that’s better than Zelda – and maybe he will soon. Here’s a little bit where we talked about that:

BS: Have you ever played Thor? It’s a Saturn action-RPG done by Ancient, with Yuzo Koshiro. It was released over here as Legend of Oasis.

SM: Oh yeah, I have that! But I haven’t really played it. The music was by Yuzo Koshiro, and I bought it because of that. I’m a huge fan of his. Oh! And I thought of an RPG I like – Ys! That was the first action RPG I thought was really amazing. The Hudson one.

BS: Yeah, I’m a big fan of the PC Engine. But the original was done by Falcom…

SM: Falcom did the PC-88 one, but Hudson did the PC Engine version. That version is really great. And I became a fan of Yuzo Koshiro because of that.

BS: And oddly, the music in Legend of Oasis was not that exciting.

SM: Yeah, to me it was kind of boring, actually.

Right after this, he called me a maniac.

From → Museum, News

Comments are closed.

